LIVE #IMS26 — live KOL coverage of the International Myeloma Society Annual Meeting in Glasgow View Full Coverage →
KOL Pulse · AI-Native Trial Intelligence

KRYSTAL-10 Trial

KRYSTAL-10 (NCT04793958) was the Phase 3 confirmatory trial of adagrasib (Krazati, Bristol Myers Squibb) plus cetuximab versus chemotherapy in previously treated KRAS G12C-mutated advanced colorectal cancer. It missed both primary endpoints — PFS 7.5 vs 8.1 months and OS 21.6 vs 21.7 months, despite a 47% vs 16% response rate — and Bristol Myers Squibb voluntarily withdrew the June 2024 accelerated approval, with FDA sign-off on September 1, 2026. The withdrawal is specific to the colorectal indication.

Phase III · NCT04793958 KRAS G12C–mutated advanced CRC · 2L Adagrasib (Krazati) + cetuximab vs chemo CRC accelerated approval withdrawn (voluntary) Sept 1, 2026
See the KOL Reaction

KRYSTAL-10 Key Takeaways

Design

Phase 3, randomized, open-label confirmatory study: adagrasib + cetuximab versus chemotherapy (mFOLFOX6 or FOLFIRI; anti-VEGF permitted) in previously treated KRAS G12C-mutated advanced colorectal cancer; 461 patients randomized in the second-line setting. ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04793958

Result — both primary endpoints missed

PFS 7.5 vs 8.1 months (HR 0.89) and OS 21.6 vs 21.7 months (HR 0.83), despite an objective response rate of 47% vs 16%. (ESMO GI 2026, LBA1 — as reported by treating physicians and trade coverage; see sources.) ApexOnco: ESMO GI coverage

Regulatory — withdrawal

⚠ The FDA’s June 21, 2024 accelerated approval of adagrasib + cetuximab in KRAS G12C-mutated CRC (granted on KRYSTAL-1 data, for tumors with the mutation as determined by an FDA-approved test) was voluntarily withdrawn by Bristol Myers Squibb, with FDA approval of the withdrawal effective September 1, 2026, after KRYSTAL-10 did not confirm clinical benefit. The action is specific to the colorectal indication — adagrasib’s NSCLC indication is not part of it, though it is itself an accelerated approval (Dec 2022) with its own confirmatory requirement. FDA approval letter (NDA 216340/S-011, Sept 1, 2026)  ·  FDA: withdrawn cancer accelerated approvals

Free Access · KOL Pulse Intelligence

Track oncology’s top KOLs in your specialty

Create a free account, pick the tumor types you cover, and go beyond the tweet — the intelligence pharma teams use to map influence and prepare for engagement:

  • ✓Enhanced KOL profiles
  • ✓Pharma influence & potential advisory-board patterns
  • ✓2025 Open Payments financial analysis
  • ✓Social-media sentiment & trend signals
Get free access — pick your specialty
Choose the tumor types you follow. No cost, unsubscribe anytime.

What KRYSTAL-10 Showed

Survival — no benefit over chemotherapy

As reported from the ESMO GI 2026 presentation (LBA1): median progression-free survival 7.5 months with adagrasib + cetuximab versus 8.1 months with chemotherapy (HR 0.89; 95% CI 0.71–1.13; p=0.3241), and median overall survival 21.6 versus 21.7 months (HR 0.83; 95% CI 0.67–1.03; p=0.0938). Both primary endpoints were missed.
PFS HR 0.89 · OS HR 0.83 — both primary endpoints missed (ESMO GI 2026, LBA1)
Source: ApexOnco ESMO GI coverage

The response-rate paradox

The chemotherapy-free regimen nearly tripled the response rate — 47% versus 16% (ESMO GI 2026, LBA1) — without improving PFS or OS. That gap is the clinical lesson KOLs keep returning to: as the guest analysis Dr. Timothée Olivier shared puts it, “A waterfall plot can look impressive, and high response rates can create enthusiasm, but they should not be confused with proven clinical benefit.” Dr. Nicholas Hornstein’s counterpoint: the higher response rate “could matter for some patients (like those who you need just a little more shrinkage to enable crative intent therapy)” [sic].

ESMO GI 2026 Presentation Slides (LBA1)

The KRYSTAL-10 primary-analysis deck as shared on X by treating physicians, July 2–3, 2026. Data cutoffs per the slides: PFS database lock April 15, 2025; OS database lock February 23, 2026. Full slide text transcribed verbatim in each OCR panel.

@ArndtVogel
Arndt Vogel@ArndtVogel
Primary results: OS, subgroups, PFS/ORR, conclusions
Jul 3, 2026 · ESMO GI 2026 · LBA1
View on X
[Slide 1 — OS (dual primary endpoint)] Ada + Cetux (n = 231) / Chemo (n = 230) Events: 159 / 169 Median OS, mo: 21.6 / 21.7 95% CI: 18.4-25.5 / 18.0-24.8 HR (95% CI): 0.83 (0.67-1.03); P = 0.0938 Landmark OS, Ada + Cetux / Chemo: 12 mo 73.4% / 70.1% · 30 mo 38.0% / 27.3% · 36 mo 27.1% / 22.5% • At final analysis, adagrasib plus cetuximab did not provide statistically significant improvements in OS (P = 0.094) over chemotherapy Database lock, February 23, 2026. HRs are from stratified Cox proportional hazards models for adagrasib plus cetuximab over chemotherapy. Stratified log-rank test was used to compare OS between the 2 treatment arms. Boundary for statistical significance: P < 0.0325. --- [Slide 2 — OS in key subgroups] Events/no. of patients (Ada + Cetux / Chemo), unstratified HR: Overall: 159/231 / 169/230, HR 0.86 Age < 65 years: 102/145 / 102/142, HR 0.95 · ≥ 65 years: 57/86 / 67/88, HR 0.72 Sex Male: 83/125 / 94/130, HR 0.76 · Female: 76/106 / 75/100, HR 1.00 Race White: 79/119 / 75/98, HR 0.75 · Non-White: 65/88 / 74/104, HR 1.12 Region 1 US/Canada: 42/52 / 38/51, HR 1.10 · Other: 117/179 / 131/179, HR 0.79 Region 2 Asia-Pacific: 47/67 / 64/92, HR 1.01 · Europe: 58/94 / 63/81, HR 0.60 ECOG PS 0: 71/117 / 86/121, HR 0.80 · ECOG PS 1: 88/114 / 83/109, HR 0.90 Location of primary disease Colon: 103/153 / 104/146, HR 0.87 · Rectum: 53/74 / 60/77, HR 0.86 Primary tumor sidedness Left: 100/145 / 92/134, HR 0.98 · Right: 45/68 / 58/68, HR 0.57 Time to progression after start of 1L therapy < 6 months: 60/74 / 53/65, HR 0.82 · ≥ 6 months: 99/157 / 116/165, HR 0.85 Prior irinotecan Yes: 14/22 / 31/40, HR 0.66 · No: 145/209 / 138/190, HR 0.90 Prior anti-VEGF/VEGFR mAbs Yes: 87/118 / 96/120, HR 0.81 · No: 72/113 / 73/110, HR 0.93 On-study anti-VEGF/VEGFR in control arm Yes: 159/231 / 108/156, HR 0.97 · No: 159/231 / 57/70, HR 0.71 HRs were not computed for subgroups with fewer than 10 patients per treatment group. Using an unstratified Cox proportional hazards model. Non-White represents all known race categories (ie, excluding not reported or unknown) other than the White category. Other represents all regions other than USA/Canada (ie, including the Asia-Pacific, Latin America, and Europe categories). Most patients received prior bevacizumab. Based on planned use of on-study anti-VEGF/VEGFR therapy per the case report form. Four patients in the chemotherapy arm had missing records and were excluded. --- [Slide 3 — PFS and best overall response] PFS (dual primary endpoint): Events 169 / 128 · Median PFS, mo 7.5 / 8.1 · 95% CI 6.3-9.2 / 7.3-9.2 · HR (95% CI) 0.89 (0.71-1.13); P = 0.3241 Landmark PFS, Ada + Cetux / Chemo: 12 mo 30.2% / 24.4% · 18 mo 20.0% / 15.4% ORR, % (95% CI): 47 (40-53) / 16 (11-21) · Difference in response rate, % (95% CI): 31 (23-39) Best overall response, %: Complete response 7 / < 1 · Partial response 39 / 15 · Stable disease 40 / 58 · Progressive disease 8 / 8 · Not estimable 5 / 18 Median DOR (95% CI), months: 9.2 (7.4-11.1) / 9.4 (5.6-11.8) • At final analysis, adagrasib plus cetuximab did not provide statistically significant improvements in PFS (P = 0.32) over chemotherapy • Higher ORR was observed with adagrasib plus cetuximab vs chemotherapy (47% vs 16%), along with higher complete response rates (7% vs < 1%) Per BICR. Database lock, April 15, 2025. HRs are from stratified Cox proportional hazards models for adagrasib plus cetuximab over chemotherapy. Stratified log-rank test was used to compare PFS between the 2 treatment arms. Boundary for statistical significance: P < 0.005. 95% CI is calculated using the exact Clopper-Pearson method. Using the Miettinen and Nurminen method with Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel weights based on stratification factors from the case report form. Data based only on patients with a confirmed objective response. --- [Slide 4 — Conclusions] • In previously treated patients with KRAS G12C-mutated mCRC, adagrasib plus cetuximab did not result in a statistically significant improvement in PFS or OS vs chemotherapy in the 2L setting - Median PFS was 7.5 vs 8.1 months (HR, 0.89; P = 0.32) and median OS was 21.6 vs 21.7 months (HR, 0.83; P = 0.09) for adagrasib plus cetuximab vs chemotherapy, respectively • ORR was higher with adagrasib plus cetuximab vs chemotherapy (47% vs 16%), with higher complete response rates (7% vs < 1%) • Safety of adagrasib plus cetuximab was manageable and no new safety signals were observed • Limitations: - PFS interpretation was limited by high informative censoring due to initiation of subsequent therapies before BICR confirmation - A higher proportion of patients in the chemotherapy arm received subsequent KRAS G12C inhibitors (4% vs 30%), and this may have confounded OS outcomes - Open-label design may have introduced bias in efficacy assessment; treatment discontinuation was disproportionately higher in the chemotherapy arm • Together, while KRYSTAL-10 did not meet its primary endpoints, these results support the clinical activity of the adagrasib plus cetuximab combination therapy in previously treated patients with KRAS G12C-mutated mCRC
@p_ciracimd
Paolo Ciracì@p_ciracimd
Study design and baseline characteristics
Jul 3, 2026 · ESMO GI 2026 · LBA1
View on X
[Slide 1 — KRYSTAL-10 study design] • KRYSTAL-10 is a global, phase 3, randomized, open-label trial Key eligibility criteria: Histologically confirmed mCRC · Confirmed KRAS G12C mutation in tumor · Progression on 1L fluoropyrimidine-based oxaliplatin or irinotecan regimen · ECOG PS 0 or 1 N = 461, randomized 1:1 → Adagrasib 600 mg BID + Cetuximab 500 mg/m2 Q2W (n = 231) vs Chemotherapy (FOLFIRI or mFOLFOX) ± anti-VEGF/VEGFR (n = 230) Stratification factors: Region (US/Canada vs other) · Time to disease progression after beginning 1L treatment (< 6 vs ≥ 6 months) Treatment until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events, investigator decision, patient refusal, or death Dual primary endpoints: PFS per BICR · OS Statistical methods: H-OS α = 4.5% (2-sided) ↔ H-PFS α = 0.5% (2-sided) Key secondary endpoints: ORR and DOR per BICR · 1-year OS · Safety • Minimum follow-up was 16.4 months for PFS per BICR and 26.4 months for OS ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT02872116 [sic on slide — KRYSTAL-10 registry number is NCT04793958]. Per investigator discretion. Database lock (data cutoff) for PFS: April 15, 2025 (March 18, 2025). Database lock (data cutoff) for OS: February 23, 2026 (January 16, 2026). --- [Slide 2 — Baseline characteristics] Ada + Cetux (n = 231) / Chemo (n = 230), n (%): Median age (range), years: 60 (27-95) / 60 (24-91) Sex, male: 125 (54) / 130 (57) Race: White 119 (52) / 98 (43) · Asian 73 (32) / 94 (41) · Black or African American 10 (4) / 7 (3) Geographic region: US, Canada, or Europe 146 (63) / 132 (57) · Asia-Pacific 67 (29) / 92 (40) · Rest of world 18 (8) / 6 (3) ECOG PS 0: 117 (51) / 121 (53) Primary tumor sidedness: Left 145 (63) / 134 (58) · Right 69 (29) / 68 (30) Number of prior lines of therapy: 1 — 205 (89) / 196 (85) · 2 — 25 (11) / 32 (14) Prior systemic therapy: Fluoropyrimidine 229 (99) / 228 (99) · Oxaliplatin 212 (92) / 195 (85) · Other chemotherapy component 137 (59) / 143 (62) · Anti-VEGF/VEGFR mAbs 118 (51) / 120 (52) · Irinotecan 22 (10) / 40 (17) · Immune checkpoint inhibitor 2 (< 1) / 1 (< 1) Data are shown as n (%) unless otherwise noted. Not reported/unknown: Ada + Cetux, n = 24; chemo, n = 28. Other: Ada + Cetux, n = 5; chemo, n = 3. Synchronous: Ada + Cetux, n = 7; chemo, n = 13. Not clear primary/unknown: Ada + Cetux, n = 11; chemo, n = 15. Includes 1L, adjuvant/neoadjuvant therapies. One patient in each arm had 3 prior lines of therapy. One patient in the chemo arm had ≥ 4 lines of therapy. Patients may have received more than 1 prior therapy component. (Note: this post also included the OS and PFS/ORR slides, shown above from @ArndtVogel's higher-resolution screenshots.)
@DaisukeKotani
Efficacy and safety summary table
Jul 2, 2026 · ESMO GI 2026 · LBA1
View on X
[Slide 1 — Efficacy and safety summary table] Efficacy in all randomized pts: Ada + Cetux (n = 231) / Chemo (n = 230) Median PFS (95% CI), mo: 7.5 (6.3-9.2) / 8.1 (7.3-9.2) · HR (95% CI): 0.89 (0.71-1.13); P = 0.32 Median OS (95% CI), mo: 21.6 (18.4-25.5) / 21.7 (18.0-24.8) · HR (95% CI): 0.83 (0.67-1.03); P = 0.09 ORR, n (%); 95% CI: 108 (47); 40-53 / 36 (16); 11-21 Safety in all treated pts, n (%): Ada + Cetux (n = 230) / Chemo (n = 206) Any-grade/grade 3-5 treatment-related TEAEs: 225 (98)/105 (46) / 198 (96)/113 (55) Any-grade serious treatment-related TEAEs: 20 (9) / 24 (12) Any-grade treatment-related TEAEs leading to discontinuation of regimen: 6 (3) / 4 (2)

From Accelerated Approval to Withdrawal

WITHDRAWN (VOLUNTARY)September 1, 2026

The FDA granted accelerated approval to adagrasib (Krazati) with cetuximab on June 21, 2024 for adults with KRAS G12C-mutated locally advanced or metastatic colorectal cancer, as determined by an FDA-approved test, previously treated with fluoropyrimidine-, oxaliplatin-, and irinotecan-based chemotherapy — based on response data from KRYSTAL-1. Continued approval was contingent on confirmatory evidence. When KRYSTAL-10 missed both primary endpoints, Bristol Myers Squibb requested voluntary withdrawal of the indication and waived the expedited withdrawal procedures; the FDA approved the withdrawal effective September 1, 2026 — two years and two months after the approval was granted. Per the FDA letter: “Although the PMR was fulfilled, the trial did not confirm clinical benefit.” KOLs broadly read the action as the accelerated-approval pathway working as designed, in the same week the FDA used that pathway to approve camizestrant on the contingent-confirmation logic in SERENA-6.

FDA approval letter: withdrawal (NDA 216340/S-011)  ·  FDA withdrawn-accelerated-approvals list  ·  FDA: June 2024 accelerated approval notice  ·  The Oncology Shot: withdrawal analysis (guest post by Sahar van Waalwijk, shared by Timothée Olivier)  ·  ClinicalTrials.gov NCT04793958

How Physicians Read the Withdrawal

Verbatim posts from the withdrawal week (Sept 4–5, 2026). Physician voices first.

Timothée Olivier, MD
Timothée Olivier, MD@Timothee_MD

Adagrasib was just withdrawn by the @FDA in metastatic colorectal cancer based on the negative results in KRYSTAL-10 "A waterfall plot can look impressive, and high response rates can create enthusiasm, but they should not be confused with proven clinical benefit." From Sahar van Waalwijk, new guest post in https://t.co/P3NUOebqBF !

24.8K views42 likes16 RT2026-09-04
Nicholas Hornstein
Nicholas Hornstein@GIMedOnc

And just like that, adagrasib + cetuximab is no longer FDA approved for KRAS G12C colorectal cancer. The accelerated approval was officially withdrawn September 1 after KRYSTAL-10 failed to confirm benefit. We talked about KRYSTAL-10 when it was presented earlier this year. The phase III randomized 461 patients in 2L to adagrasib + cetuximab vs chemotherapy ± VEGF inhibition. It missed both primary endpoints: ▪️PFS: 7.5 vs 8.1 months, HR 0.89
▪️OS: 21.6 vs 21.7 months, HR 0.83 Hard to argue with a negative phase III trial. But I still like the idea of a chemo free option. Response rate was 47% vs 16%. That could matter for some patients (like those who you need just a little more shrinkage to enable crative intent therapy). KRYSTAL-10 asked whether adagrasib + cetuximab was better than chemotherapy in 2L. It wasn’t. That doesn’t mean the concept of KRAS G12C + EGFR blockade was wrong. And it doesn’t mean there aren’t patients for which this isnt valuable. Anyone celebrating this should look themselves in the mirror; this is a tool that has just been removed from our arsenal. However, the FDA did exactly what the system is designed to do; pull back if the Ph III doesnt pan out after accelerated approval. @OncoAlert @TheGutOncLab @Onco_Nexus

24.0K views61 likes21 RT2026-09-05
Nicholas Hornstein
Nicholas Hornstein@GIMedOnc

#ESMOGI2026 Surprising news for mCRC out of ESMOGI. KRYSTAL-10: Adagrasib + cetuximab misses its primary endpoint in 2L KRAS G12C mCRC. After the accelerated approval and encouraging activity from KRYSTAL-1, many expected dual KRAS/EGFR inhibition to outperform chemotherapy in the second line. That didn't happen. Quick hits: • Primary endpoint (PFS): Negative • mPFS 7.5 vs 8.1 months • HR 0.89 (95% CI 0.71-1.13) • Response rate dramatically improved • ORR 47% vs 16% • CR 7% vs <1% • No improvement in OS at the final analysis despite the higher response rate. So what happened? This is a reminder that response rate ≠ durable disease control. Nearly half of patients responded, but those responses did not translate into longer PFS or OS compared with modern chemotherapy. Targeted therapy works, but mCRC can overcome via resistance mechanisms (such as via massive KRAS upregulation). Will be interesting to see how novel degraders come into the mix here... Remember, this is a first gen KRASi, the future is still bright here. What does this mean for clinic tomorrow? Honestly, I still love a chemo-free option that is at least on par with chemotherapy. This isn't the end of KRAS G12C in CRC. Far from it. The focus now shifts to moving targeted therapy earlier, where combinations with chemotherapy may produce deeper, more durable responses before resistant clones emerge. Multiple frontline studies are already underway. @TheGutOncLab @OncoAlert @Onco_Nexus @myESMO

6.7K views58 likes32 RT2026-07-04
Paolo Ciracì
Paolo Ciracì@p_ciracimd

Results from the phase 3 KRYSTAL-10 trial (2L KRAS G12C-mut mCRC): 👉 adagrasib + cetuximab did not meet its dual primary endpoints of PFS and OS vs chemo ± anti-VEGF/R 👉 ORR was numerically higher (47% vs 16%) @OncoAlert #ESMOGI26 https://t.co/7HeAJkpvdN

3.4K views26 likes14 RT2026-07-03
Arndt Vogel
Arndt Vogel@ArndtVogel

Second-line adagrasib + cetuximab vs CTx in KRASG12C-mutated mCRC: Results from the KRYSTAL-10 trial #ESMOGI26 👉ORR with 40% higher, but no PFS & OS benefit for combination over CTx 👉30% crossover 🧐a bit disappointing after the PDAC data @myESMO @ASCO https://t.co/U9Fn5JnHJC

2.1K views25 likes13 RT2026-07-03
Daisuke Kotani, MD, Ph.D 小谷 大輔
Daisuke Kotani, MD, Ph.D 小谷 大輔@DaisukeKotani

#ESMOGI26 | LBA1 KRYSTAL-10: Ph3 2L adagrasib + cetuximab vs SOC for KRAS G12C mCRC No significant improvements in dual primary endpoints of PFS and OS. @myESMO @OncoAlert https://t.co/f49ShqYCL3

1.6K views21 likes9 RT2026-07-02
Dr Amol Akhade
Dr Amol Akhade@SuyogCancer

And it ended after 2 years and 2 months . Adagrasib withdrawn by @usfda from CRC. @GIcancerDoc @OncoAlert https://t.co/U2QW3ogLeb https://t.co/5eKBxmGERT

1.0K views6 likes0 RT2026-09-05
Jia (Jenny) Liu MD PhD
Jia (Jenny) Liu MD PhD@JiaJennyLiu

Worth noting that ~30% of patients on the control arm subsequently received a KRAS G12C inhibitor. Makes the OS result, and the question of sequencing vs biological activity a little more nuanced. Also highlights the challenge of evaluating a rapidly evolving target class when multiple KRAS G12C agents are available through trials.

175 views2 likes0 RT2026-09-05

KRYSTAL-10 Questions

What is the KRYSTAL-10 trial?

KRYSTAL-10 (NCT04793958) is the Phase 3, randomized, open-label confirmatory study of adagrasib (Krazati) plus cetuximab versus chemotherapy (mFOLFOX6 or FOLFIRI per ClinicalTrials.gov, with anti-VEGF therapy permitted) in previously treated, KRAS G12C-mutated advanced colorectal cancer. 461 patients were randomized in the second-line setting.

Why was the adagrasib colorectal cancer approval withdrawn?

The June 21, 2024 accelerated approval of adagrasib plus cetuximab was contingent on confirmatory evidence. KRYSTAL-10 missed both primary endpoints as presented at ESMO GI 2026 (LBA1) - PFS 7.5 vs 8.1 months (HR 0.89) and OS 21.6 vs 21.7 months (HR 0.83). Bristol Myers Squibb requested voluntary withdrawal of the indication, and the FDA approved the withdrawal on September 1, 2026 - about two years and two months after the approval was granted. Per the FDA letter: although the postmarketing requirement was fulfilled, the trial did not confirm clinical benefit.

Did adagrasib plus cetuximab show any activity in KRYSTAL-10?

Yes - the response rate was 47% with adagrasib plus cetuximab versus 16% with chemotherapy, per the treating physicians' reports of the ESMO GI 2026 presentation. The debate among KOLs is exactly this gap: a chemotherapy-free regimen with a much higher response rate that nonetheless did not improve progression-free or overall survival.

Does the withdrawal affect adagrasib in lung cancer?

The September 1, 2026 withdrawal is specific to the colorectal cancer indication. Adagrasib's KRAS G12C-mutated non-small cell lung cancer indication is not part of this action - but it is itself an accelerated approval (granted December 2022) with its own confirmatory-evidence requirement, and remains on the FDA's list of ongoing accelerated approvals.

What does the KRYSTAL-10 withdrawal mean for accelerated approvals?

KOLs framed it as the accelerated-approval system functioning as designed - here via sponsor-initiated voluntary withdrawal once the confirmatory trial read out. Dr. Nicholas Hornstein: "the FDA did exactly what the system is designed to do; pull back if the Ph III doesnt pan out after accelerated approval." It landed the same week the FDA granted a new accelerated approval (camizestrant, SERENA-6) on the same contingent-confirmation logic.

Compiled and reviewed by the KOL Pulse research team, led by Brian Shields, Founder, KOL Pulse. Last updated September 5, 2026. Every quote verbatim; design facts sourced to ClinicalTrials.gov and the FDA; efficacy figures per the ESMO GI 2026 LBA1 presentation slides (physician-shared, transcribed above) and trade coverage.